Things We Take For Granted

After stressful events this past weekend I was reminded of how much we take for granted. We get into our daily routines, sweat the small stuff (that we perceive as a huge, insurmountable problem), get mad because of stupid things (that of course are the most important things in the world while we are in the moment), but when we put all of our daily discomforts against a real, large issue, that’s when we get perspective.

I have to admit, I took for granted the safety of my own home up until it was almost compromised. I complained regularly that living with 8 people in the house was unbearable until it got to the point when I wished I had all 8 of us standing against what threatened us. I use to think that my military father and his “super hero cop” brother were paranoid when they insisted on teaching my me and my brother certain things, until I instinctively found myself searching for a weapon in the darkness of my house while a man at my door was trying to get inside.

I am not sure what would have happened if my other half wasn’t thinking on his feet and didn’t call the police when he did. I am not sure what would have happened had we not installed the security system that we did… Frankly, I don’t want to think about it especially in lieu of new evidence that these people have been watching us for a few days. These people knew we were home and they were coming for us.

I write here about being strong mentally and physically. I tell you that you can achieve and overcome everything if you put your mind to it. I write about having the steel resolve to rise above. Well, I have to say, some things bring even the strongest to their knees. I am mad today because I am still letting these people and their actions get in my head. I am mad because I flinch every time I hear leaves move in my yard and every time I see headlights around my house. I guess it will take time for me to get over it.

The reason why I am telling you all of this is: be grateful for every day that you have and every carefree minute that you get. The stress that you are under today can easily be doubled or tripled tomorrow. Appreciate your friends and your family, tell them daily that you love them, and forgive them their small transgressions and annoying habits. Be kind, be generous, be genuine, and be you, because you never know when that moment can get taken away from you.

 

Posted on January 27, 2014, in anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

