Fierce Workout: Tabata Body

Lately I have been under a bit of stress. I wanted to do something fun, easy to keep track of, and physically challenging so I can take my mind of off the things that have been happening in my life lately. A friend has suggested I try to do some tabata workouts to switch up my routine and get the optimal calorie burn.

So what is a tabata workout, you will ask? Well, to put it simply: tabata training is a high intensity interval training routine created by Dr. Izumi Tabata and his colleagues to study the effects of HIIT vs. moderate intensity training. The results of the study clearly showed that athletes who engaged in HIIT training showed significant aerobic and anaerobic system improvements over those that participated in the moderate intensity training.

Below is a tabata workout during which you will work at  100% exertion level for 20 seconds followed by 10 seconds of rest. Enjoy and let me know how it went!

Tabata-Body

Posted on February 6, 2014, in workout and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

